top of page

Summer Reading Suggestions

Summer is an ideal time for children to leisurely enjoy books and grow in their love for reading. As I child, I was drawn to reading partially because I was exposed to some really great books. Here’s a short list of some of the books that made me fall in love with reading.

Superfudge by Judy Blume ~ Ages 8-10

I remember my mother reading this book aloud to me. I also remember we laughed A LOT while reading it. This is a great book for kiddos who enjoy humor.

Are You My Mother? by P.D. Eastman ~ Ages 4-10

I don’t know how many times my own mother must have read this sweet book to me. I loved it as a young child. As an educator, I also love this book because the repetition supports beginning readers.

A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L'Engle

I didn’t get to know this book until I taught a middle school English class. I am generally not a big fan of science fiction (just a personal preference), but I love this story which is part science fiction, part mystery and part adventure. I wish I had met this book sooner.

The Horse and His Boy by C.S. Lewis ~ Ages 8+

I think that this may be the least known and most underappreciated novel from The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe series. Although the story does not include the most well-known characters from the series, it is a lovely story and worth the read.

When We Were Very Young by A.A. Milne ~ Ages 8-12

This book of poetry for children is written by the creator of Winnie the Pooh. My mother read these endearing poems to me when I was very young. I still like to read and quote the poems from this book. My favorite line: “But now I am six, I’m as clever as clever. So I think I’ll be six now for ever and ever.”

Anne of Green Gables by Lucy Maud Montgomery ~ Ages 12+

This is the first book of the Green Gables series. After I read it, I spent the summer reading the entire series. This story of family and friendship is especially relatable to young girls.

Grandfather’s Journey by Allen Say ~ Ages 4+

This is hands down my favorite picture book. I didn’t get to know this book as a child since it is a more recent publication. I am in trouble if I read this book aloud, because I get choked up every time. If you’ve ever traveled to a faraway place and left part of your heart behind when you returned home, you will connect with his book. The beautiful illustrations were also created by the author.

Sneetches by Dr. Seuss ~ Ages 5-9

As a child, my mom chose a lot of Dr. Seuss books for read alouds. The Sneetches is one of my favorites because it teaches children the importance of accepting people whose appearance is different from their own. It can be a great conversation starter about the creativity of God as it is reflected through his unique creations.

The Hiding Place by Corrie Ten Boom ~ Ages 12+

(It is advisable for parents to read and discuss this one along with middle school students as the content is quite heavy.)

This true story is a story of God’s faithfulness even during the most trying times. Corrie was part of the Dutch resistance during World War II, and

she reminds readers that, “There is no pit so deep that God’s love is not deeper still.” Her grace and compassion towards those who wronged her on the deepest level is an extraordinary example of how we can be God’s hands and feet on earth.

Cabin on Trouble Creek by Jean Van Leeuwen ~ Ages 9-12

In this historical fiction book, two boys accompany their father to build a cabin for their family in Ohio as it is just becoming settled. Their father leaves the two boys in order to retrieve his wife and younger children, intending to quickly return before winter settles in. However, things don’t go as planned, and the boys need to figure out how to survive on their own. This is an engaging story that appeals to my sense of adventure.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page